Flexible days and terms

Mariposa Primary School is, as far as we know, the first UK school to offer flexible school holidays. We know this is important to parents, and actually to teachers too. Also, for those who don’t have children in other schools, having a shorter summer holiday has great academic benefits; some reports say that children can take up to 9 weeks to ‘catch up’ after the summer break.
However, for families who need the ‘normal’ school holiday pattern, this is also an option.
We also offer optional extended school days. This increases the number of activities we can offer and supports working parents.

Flexible holidays

For the last two weeks of every term, we change from our thematic curriculum to our Challenge Weeks. Families (and teachers) can choose to take one of these fortnights as holiday. This means that the school is open for two weeks longer every year, but each child (and teacher) is in school for the same amount of time as other schools.
Here are our term dates for 2016/17
Remember – you will be able to choose one of the Challenge Weeks to take as holiday. This gives you three options:
  1. A longer winter holiday
  2. A longer spring holiday
  3. Keeping the ‘normal’ long summer holiday

Autumn term 2016

Thursday 1 September 2016 to Friday 21 October 2016
Half Term: Monday 24 October 2016 to Friday 28 October 2016
Monday 31st October 2016 to Wednesday 7th December 2016
Challenge weeks: Thursday 8th December to Wednesday 21st December
(Harrow Community Schools term ends 21st December)

Spring term 2017


Thursday 5 January 2017 to Friday 10 February 2017
Half Term: Monday 13 February 2017 to Friday 17 February 2017
Monday 20th February 2017 to Friday 16th March 2017
Challenge weeks: Monday 19th March 2017 to Friday 31st March 2017

(Harrow Community Schools term ends 31st March)   

Summer term 2017

Tuesday 18 April 2017 to Friday 26 May 2017
Half Term: Monday 29 May 2017 to Friday 2 June 2017
Monday 5th June 2017 to Friday 19th July 2017
Challenge Weeks: Monday 23rd July 2017 to Friday 4th August 2017    
(Harrow Community Schools term ends Friday 21st July)
Here are these dates, shown on a calendar:
Next page: Extended School


020 8945 3123